Would it change you?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/29/daily-prompt-speed/

Daily Prompt: Can’t Drive 55

Take the third line of the last song you heard, make it your post title, and write for a maximum of 15 minutes. GO!

Photographers, artists, poets: show us SPEED.

Would it change you?  Good question.  It would depend on what “it” actually referred to.

If “it” was money, for example, then I suspect it wouldn’t necessarily change me, but it would change the things I could do, the way I live.  Yes, I would splash out on material things like houses and cars – oh, and jewellery – but fundamentally it wouldn’t really change me as a person.  I would still want to be a bit too generous with others whether they deserved it or not.  I would be no less caring and considerate than I am now.  So, I suppose the answer to that is no, it wouldn’t change “me”.

If “it” was love and affection then yes, it would most definitely change me.  I crave that.  Have done my whole life.  Been called an attention whore on more than one occasion, also an affection sponge because, no matter how much I’m given, I can always use more!  But surely that’s no bad thing is it?  There are worse things I could be addicted to.

Of course, the two items above really don’t often go together, for money cannot buy love and affection and therefore cannot make me happy.  It can buy things, but not the important things in life.

However, there is another side to money and being changed… Cue “SPEED”…

P1020034This has just come back in the post to me today.  It’s my (now dirty) driving license.  For the first time in over 23 years, I got caught speeding on a motorway.  My offence was to be driving at 62mph – not in itself an offence on a motorway – but through (unmanned) roadworks.  Birmingham police are notorious for being a little bit, shall we say, unkind but, to be fair, it was my own fault really.  I knew there were cameras overhead – the average-speed kind that take three separate readings.

To be honest, I wasn’t concentrating that day.  I’d had a very sad but furious row with the SO and I had been due to stay at his place overnight.  I was tired and fed up.  And I chose to leave.  Fight or flight… I chose the latter – and the consequences of that are shown here.  Sickening for me.

I suppose it has changed me.  For the better?  I can’t say really.  I am certainly more aware of speed limits, not that I’ve ever been a speed freak as I had an accident many years ago (not due to speed) that made me realise I’m lucky to still be alive.  And I am devastated that, after all that time with a clean driving record, it’s now been written on.  I am suitably ashamed.  Not least because the SO got stopped speeding on the same motorway and I laughed at his idiocy.  As it turned out, I’d actually offended before him so I guess Karma was just letting me know she’s still watching every move I make!

Ok, that’s my 15 minutes Smile

Trackbacks & Pingbacks
  1. Spend more time outdoors. Processed with Android Lomo Camera app | Bright Moments Catcher
  2. Fields | Agrifun.com
  3. Each day has its own beauty. Processed with Android Lomo Camera app | Bright Moments Catcher
  4. The party is over. Processed with Android Lomo Camera app | Bright Moments Catcher
  5. Hobbit House | Bright Moments Catcher
  6. My Phoneography Blog | Bright Moments Catcher
  7. Ten o’clock postman bring me her letter | Bright Moments Catcher
  8. Belgorod, Russia. January 2012. Ice hole dipping | Bright Moments Catcher
  9. Canon Camera Lens Coffee / Tea Mug | Bright Moments Catcher
  10. Autumn fence. Belgorod, Russia | Bright Moments Catcher
  11. Need for Speed | Mara Eastern’s Personal Blog
  12. Daily Prompt: Can’t Drive 55 | The Lint In My Pocket
  13. Daily Prompt: Can’t Drive 55 | Under the Monkey Tree
  14. I’m Just Livin’ By My Own Feelin’s | Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’s
  15. Can’t Drive 55 – I told you ’bout all those fears | Geek Ergo Sum
  16. Daily Prompt: Can’t Drive 55 | MyBlog – solaner
  17. Whats your speed? | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  18. Daily Prompt- Dancing With a Bear | readingwithafeather
  19. Hop on the Back of My Bike | Daily Prompt: Can’t Drive 55 | likereadingontrains
  20. They got nothing on you, baby [Daily Prompt: Can’t Drive 55] | This is ME, you know.
  21. Oh, All My Friends Are Turning Green [A Vignette/Flash Fiction] | Ramisa the Authoress
  22. Who else is going to bring you a bottle of wine? I can’t drive 55… | The Rider
  23. Thank you | A Teacher’s Blog
  24. Eu vou juntar as avenidas / I’ll gather up the avenues | Never clip my wings
  25. Daily Prompt: Proof Through The Night | One Starving Activist
  26. A little absurdity | A mom’s blog
  27. And the parking lot was our first date | Motherhood and Beyond
  28. I Can’t Help Myself | Tony’s Texts
  29. Daily Prompt: Can’t Drive 55 – ‘Cause I’ve Got To Be Free | IF I ONLY HAD A TIME MACHINE
  30. I can tell by the way she lows | mostlytrueramblings
  31. Daily Prompt:When our friends talk about you all that it does is just tear me down | For the love of sharing awesomeness
  32. It’s Our Party We Can Love Who We Want [Daily Prompt: Can’t Drive 55] | unknowinglee
  33. Daily Prompt: Can’t Drive 55 (We Can’t Stop by Miley Cyrus) | Amelie Lockhart
  34. Caught In A Landslide – Daily Prompt | Linda Long Writes!
  35. “Can’t Drive 55″ | Relax
  36. Daily Prompt: Can’t Drive 55 « Mama Bear Musings
  37. Now You’re Playing With POWER! | Lord Aoshi’s Latest Finds
  38. Daily Prompt: “No Matter What You Been Through” | Creative Mysteries
  39. Have You Ever Seen A Show With Fellas on the Mic With One Minute Rhymes That Don’t Come Out Right? | Not a Punk Rocker
  40. Akeed ragaa w law bainy w baino blad – 5 min stream-of-consciousness | I Didn’t Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving
  41. 156. I Knew Before You Got Home | kevindeisher
  42. On Fire | Hope* the happy hugger
  43. Nothing You Could Do | The Jittery Goat
  44. When I Leave this World, I’ll Leave No Regrets | Beats of Pieces
  45. I just run back to you…. | dawnyhosking
  46. Daily Prompt: And in the dark I have no name | Winding Road
  47. WE RUN IN THIS TOWN | ayimas
  48. Daily Prompt: So long, it’s been good to know yuh … | SERENDIPITY
  49. Daily Prompt – White Jet trails across the blue sky | Joe’s Musings
  50. Eat Your Fruit Loops in the Dark | A Day in the Life
  51. there’s no one quite like you, you push all my buttons down | wannabepoet
  52. We Can Learn To Love Again – Why No Relationship Is A Waste Of Time | suzie81’s Blog
  53. Out for all that I can get | mentalrollercoaster
  54. Daily Prompt: Can’t Drive 55 | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  55. You Go To School And You Learn To Read And Write | Clive’s Blog
  56. There’s nothing you won’t do for money? | Life is great
  57. I’m feeling dead and gone | Hasta Que mi Corazón Explote… | Until my Heart Explodes…
  58. There’s nothing you won’t do for money? | Blognovic’s Weblog
  59. The Daily Post’s Prompt of the Day | Pitman’s General Store
  60. Beauty I’d Always Missed With These Eyes Before | The Laughing Nanny
  61. Daily Prompt: Will your bachelors of arts help you get by? | cinnwriterblog
  62. I Grab My Pen… | An Upturned Soul
  63. EAR WORM – TRY A LITTLE TENDERNESS | Emotional Fitness
  64. How strange that I don’t know you at all. | thealiciacook
  65. I Wait For You | Sogna Grandezza
  66. All I Have Needed Thy Hand Hath Provided | My Bipolar Life
  67. Time is made from honey, slow and sweet | I Dream of White Rooms
  68. Can’t Drive 55 | The Nameless One
  69. Finally I Can See You Crystal Clear|| Wedding Day|| Daily Prompt | Mind My Mind But…
  70. Daily Prompt: Donne leur la main | verena cave
  71. You Were The One | Life, Love, and the Pursuit of Happiness
  72. Soulache | shame
  73. Daily Prompt: And she’ll say I’m in love with a beautiful man that I don’t hardly understand at all | Reinvention of Mama
  74. DP: Can’t Drive 55 | A Blog’s Life
  75. Daily Prompt: Today I Heard You Say Maybe it’s Okay | Heron There & Everywhere
  76. I Knew She Would Meet Her Connection…(wp daily prompt) | Daily Observations
  77. And The Only Line I Can Think To Say Is… | sayanything
  78. ‘And if you’re further up the road, can you show me what I still can’t see?’ | Curious Jac
  79. I was dancing when I was aaah | Jambo Robyn
  80. The Seaweed Is Always Greener In Somebody Else’s Lake | Upstairs Productions

13 thoughts on “Would it change you?

  1. Pingback: A little absurdity | A mom's blog

  2. Pingback: I’M SUCH A MESS | hastywords

  3. Pingback: You Know, Anklebiters | Molly Greye

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt – White Jet trails across the blue sky | Joe's Musings

  5. Pingback: Maybe that’s the way I should go | Alastair's Blog

  6. Pingback: There’s nothing you won’t do for moneySpend more time outdoors. Processed with Android Lomo Camera app | Bright Moments Catcher Fields | Agrifun.com Each day has its own beauty. Processed with Android Lomo Camera app | Bright Moments Catcher The party

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Well, I walk in the air between the rain through myself and back again Where? I don’t know | My Atheist Blog

  8. Pingback: Such A Color | Edward Hotspur

  9. If you can keep a clean driving license in Switzerland you are a wonder person. We only have a population of eight million and I am sure at least half a million are speed police. And where the police are not, there are automatic cameras. They will get you eventually. don’t hang your head, you will survive (with me and many others).

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Can’t Drive 55 | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  11. Pingback: Been your own prophet, swam seven seas yet you remain discontent | Expressions

  12. Pingback: What’s my work really like? | Rob's Surf Report

Leave a comment