Another subjective subject

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/25/daily-prompt-effort/

Daily Prompt: Secret of Success

What would it take for you to consider yourself a “successful blogger”? Is that something you strive for?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us EFFORT.

If there’s one thing that blogging has taught me, it’s that there are as many different opinions about things as there are subjects to have opinions about.  It always pleases me when I read another blog, particularly on the Daily Prompt subjects, that have a very similar view to my own.  It shows me that I am unique, but not exclusively.

The success of my own blogs, the other two mainly, have never depended on having readers, followers, likers or commenters.  This one, however, is a little different.  This, for me, is a whole new way of blogging and, I suppose, the success of this one does wholly depend on those four things.  What’s the point of having an opinion on a subject which you want to share if no-one bothers to read, like or comment?  If they follow too, well, so much the better.

But this, in itself, brings a big responsibility.  Can I continue to write what others will enjoy reading?  I don’t know.  I am not, like so many others, any kind of graduate in language.  I have no qualifications whatsoever in any relevant subject.  And I am still experiencing life so I can’t even, really, be an expert on that either.  I write from the heart.  I write what is on my mind.  I will embrace new ideas and subjects and am very thankful that this little corner of my life really makes me think outside my own particular box.

For me, success with the blog is knowing that someone, anyone, out there is reading what I have to say.  And I am incredibly happy to have ‘met’ some lovely new people, many of whom are in similar situations – or have been – and to gain from their support and experience is the whole point of blogging for me.

Do I strive for success with the blog?  I am probably not the most dedicated blogger; striving for anything is, so often, beyond me and my capabilities – or cares.  I try not to care if no-one comments or likes a post, but that doesn’t stop me checking a dozen times a day.  So even though I tell myself I don’t care, I probably do.

I will continue to write my blogs, all of them, because they are a kind of therapy for me, and because they are there when I feel like a quick recap of events in my life, things I’ve done or thoughts I’ve had.  In that sense, yes, I think I could consider myself successful.  Is it something I strive for?  I couldn’t say.  It happens.  That’s about as far as it goes.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks
  1. Daily Prompt: The Effort behind sucessful blogging | tokʞaali’s blog/site/ɹǝʌǝʇɐɥʍ
  2. Daily Prompt: Effort | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  3. Success Enough | Daily Prompt: Secret of Success | likereadingontrains
  4. Diary of a Mud Run | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  5. Effort | The Magic Black Book
  6. jennifermarshcurtis
  7. How do you spend your Sundays? | We Live In A Flat
  8. Success! Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  9. Effortless Blogging? | The Ambitious Drifter
  10. Comparison Is The Thief Of Joy | ourmulticolouredlife
  11. The Secret of a Soldier | Beyondpen
  12. The Lurker’s List | What It Takes to Become a Successful Blogger
  13. A Successful Blogger? What the what? | Emotional Resonance and Rocket Launchers
  14. Daily Prompt: Secret of Success | My Atheist Blog
  15. It’s good enough for me… | thoughtsofrkh
  16. There’s No Shortcut To Success! | Creative Mysteries
  17. Aiming for Zenith! On My Way to Success | Things To Rave About
  18. Daily Prompt: Secret of Success | Under the Monkey Tree
  19. “Secret of Success” | Relax
  20. Daily Prompt: Secret of Success | littlegirlstory
  21. Daily Prompt: Secret of Success « Vicariously Poetic
  22. Preparing for Winter | Andante Cantabile
  23. Do “Likes” And “Follows” Define Success? | The Jittery Goat
  24. Daily Prompt: Secret of Success | Beats of Pieces
  25. Daily Prompt: Secret of Success | Motherhood and Beyond
  26. Daily Post Challenge ~ Effort | soletusknow
  27. Daily Prompt: Secret of Success « Mama Bear Musings
  28. Am I a Successful Blogger? | My Spirit Journey
  29. Success! | meanderedwanderings
  30. Secret of Success-Effort | Flowers and Breezes
  31. Effort (Daily Prompt) | photo potpourri
  32. Daily Prompt: Making It | One Starving Activist
  33. Nightmare Inception : Secret of Success | thanks for letting me autograph your cat
  34. Daily Prompt: Secret of Success | College Girl Dai
  35. Duncan the Sushi Roll #2 | Neva Samaki
  36. 151. My Successful Blog | kevindeisher
  37. Secret of Success… do I measure it right? | The Rider
  38. The secret of success is not likes or follows… | Sue’s Trifles
  39. Follow Your Dreams Or They’ll Beat You Down With A Stick | Upstairs Productions
  40. Daily Prompt: Secret of Success | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  41. Daily Prompt: Secret of Success | Jasper Smits
  42. Secret of Success: Changes | Khana’s Web
  43. Key to Success | A mom’s blog
  44. Daily Prompt: Secret of Success | BulgingButtons
  45. Success 2: Why we blog… | alienorajt
  46. How To Be A Successful Blogger | Existentialists R Us
  47. Daily Prompt: If you feel successful, you are. | SERENDIPITY
  48. Carmela Snelbaker
  49. There Goes My Sponsorship Deal | Not a Punk Rocker
  50. What if I felt like a successful blogger? | Okay, what if ?
  51. Success or not? How in the hell would you define it? | Mad Pot
  52. Daily Prompt: Secret of Success | The Blogging Path
  53. Freshly Unim-Pressed | My OCD Diaries
  54. Walk Softly and Carry a Big Lens – Daily Prompt: Secret of Success | Babsje Heron
  55. Daily Prompt: Secret of Success | Everyday Adventures

5 thoughts on “Another subjective subject

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Secret of Success | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Am I really concerned with being a successful blogger? | Rob's Surf Report

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Secret of Success | Joe's Musings

Leave a comment