Books? Don’t mind if I do!

Second Time Around

Tell us about a book you can read again and again without getting bored — what is it that speaks to you?

I don’t tend to read books, as such. I have hundreds of them and I just love books. Holding a book is something future generations won’t even have the pleasure of knowing. For me, one of the best things in life is getting hold of a brand new book and opening the pages for the first time. The smell of the print, the smooth feel of the paper, the shiny words and pictures jumping off the pages at me.

DSC_0027

These are just a few of my awesome books

As you can see, only one of the books in the photo has a broken spine. This was a book I bought second-hand and I realise that not everyone understands, or cares, about books the way I do. It is a travesty to open a lovely new book and try to make it sit flat. I’ve watched people bend the covers back until they almost touch each other and the result is the ruination of many a beautiful object.

But I am not really one for novels, I much prefer reference materials. The closest I get to a novel is a self-help book. I have dozens of those. I love any kind of factual book, reference book, that sort of thing. I think this is because I don’t like fiction that much. It’s false, fake, made up stuff which, while it may even be based on reality, isn’t actual reality. Therefore, in my mind, it is akin to lying and that’s something I utterly detest.

I know millions of people read fiction as a way to escape reality. The problem I have with that, is that reality is always there when you put the book down, so the disappointment is always looming and the reality escape is but a mere memory.

There are several books that I pick up time and time again. I have never read a single one of them from cover to cover. Reference books are difficult to do that with. Some of my favourite books to dip into regularly are my Crystal Bible series by Judy Hall, another crystal book I have, by Cassandra Easson, is practically a daily dipper. My other favourite book, as I have mentioned in previous posts, is my dictionary. I love that book with a passion that few would understand.

3 thoughts on “Books? Don’t mind if I do!

  1. It is sad that actual books are becoming more and more uncommon. Like you, nothing brings me pleasure like opening a new book and taking in the feel and the smell! (NOTHING beats that new book smell!) I pride myself on keeping my books in good condition. It is almost like a game to me to see if I can keep the spine from cracking even a little. 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by 🙂
      I’m really glad that I am not alone in loving the new book smell. People often think I’m a bit weird – clearly they don’t appreciate the finer things in life! I love my electronics but I just can’t bring myself to read books on them, it feels wrong and not just a little bit disloyal to my beautiful collection of paper and print 🙂

      • Totally agree! I received a Kindle one year for my birthday and while it is nice, I just can’t handle it. I feel like I am cheating on my books! I love the smell and feel of a REAL book! You are not alone. 🙂

Leave a Reply

