Days gone by

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/12/daily-prompt-memento/

Daily Prompt: Toy Story

What was your favourite plaything as a child? Do you see any connection between your life now, and your favourite childhood toy?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us MEMENTO.

I was very lucky as a child.  I had a lot of toys and so did my sister.  We were never short of anything to play with. 

I think I must have gone through phases of which toy was my favourite.  For many years it was a cute yellow teddy bear.  He was about 12” tall and he had lovely orange and black glass eyes.  I remember how I used to cry when Mum washed him and pegged him out on the line to dry.  One time, he needed washing in the winter and as he couldn’t be hung outside (and it was before the days of the tumble dryer) Mum pegged him, by his ears again, to the fire-guard which was placed some distance from the roaring coal fire we had going in the grate.  Imagine my horror though when we discovered that, even from a distance, the heat from the fire had been enough to melt his eyes a little.  They were just starting to ooze out of shape when we noticed.  He was promptly taken down and laid on a towel on the table to cool down.  I couldn’t take him to bed that night because he wasn’t dry.  To this day I don’t know what happened to him after I grew up.

Teddy 2003_0824_220209AAThe connection between then and now is that I still take a teddy bear to bed.  And, no, I don’t care that I’m 47!  The one I have now was given to me by a friend in 1988 as a Christmas gift.  He is white – or at least he used to be – and about 12” high with brown and black glass eyes.  One has a chip missing where my son used to have him when he was a baby and he accidentally put him down rather hard on a brick wall, face down.  The other mishap Teddy’s suffered is that, one time when I was washing him many years ago, I tried to dry him in my shiny new washer/dryer.  I’d never had a combination machine before and previous tumble dryers had been vented, but this one was a condenser dryer.  What I didn’t realise about it was that the temperature inside got hotter than a standard vented dryer and although his eyes didn’t melt, his fur matted very badly and he gained a flat spot on the other eye where he was being chucked around in the drum.  He wasn’t alone in there, he had a lot of clothing to mix with but it wasn’t enough to save him from that particular fate.

He’s been patched and re-stuffed; I’ve made clothes for him to help stop the wear on his threadbare patches, of which he has quite a few.

Teddy is nearly 25 years old now but he still sleeps with me, and a whole host of other furry friends.  Winks, my cute little cheeky grey elephant.  Smiler, a huge 6’ long multi-coloured caterpillar with a daft grin on his face and cute green furry antenna.  Edward, a little Reiki healing bear.  And numerous others.  I have a double bed but there’s only just about room for me in it with all my furry friends.  At least they don’t steal the quilt!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks
  1. A Toy | Bright Moments Catcher
  2. I HAVE A DREAM, A DIGITAL DREAM! (Not to sould like MLK Jr. up in here, but we need one.) | Lord Aoshi’s Latest Finds
  3. Toy Story | Geek Ergo Sum
  4. (Lost) Toy Story | The Ambitious Drifter
  5. My first boyfriend. | Crossroads
  6. Chip Hazard | Sogna Grandezza
  7. A Horse is a Horse, of course, of course | Conversations
  8. Toy Story- Barbie | mcpw
  9. Daily Prompt: Toy Story – My littlegirltoy | littlegirlstory
  10. Daily Prompt: Toy Story | Under the Monkey Tree
  11. Memento | Mara Eastern’s Personal Blog
  12. Dhingali Maari Hala | મન ની વાત
  13. Green words | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  14. Cops and Robbers | MC’s Whispers
  15. Adorned With Skinned Knees | sayanything
  16. Dad, Me, And A Toy Jeep | The Jittery Goat
  17. Daily Prompt Repost: Toy Story; Simba’s Praise Song | Virginia the Viruliferous
  18. A Toy | Puggle | Ellen Gregory
  19. Daily Prompt: Toy Story « Mama Bear Musings
  20. Toys!! | mostlytrueramblings
  21. Playthings | Tony’s Texts
7 thoughts on “Days gone by

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Toy Story | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: It’s Doggie Playtime | Anchors Aweigh

  3. Pingback: My doll house | A mom's blog

  4. Pingback: Did I really have a favorite toy? | Rob's Surf Report

  5. Pingback: Bears, Teddy and Otherwise | The Silver Leaf Journal

  6. Pingback: By A Show Of Hands, Who Played With Barbies… That Still Had Their Heads? | Molly Greye

  7. Pingback: Friendly monsters | Natasha's Memory Garden

Leave a Reply

