A gross underestimation

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/06/daily-prompt-turning-point/

Daily Prompt: Regrets, I’ve Had a Few

What’s your biggest regret? How would your life have been different if you’d made another decision?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us TURNING POINT.

To say that I’ve had a few regrets throughout my life is putting it very mildly indeed.

My single biggest regret is that I didn’t listen to my Mother more.  At the time, as a cocky teenager, I thought I knew better.  Turns out I was wrong!  When I look back to those times, I realise now that she was only trying to do what was right for me, using the benefit of her own experience.  Of course, most people forget that their parents were young and foolish once, and more than capable of making the same silly, and sometimes downright costly, mistakes years before we were even thought of.

dep_5777815-Decision-at-Turning-Point-of-Dead-End-or-OpportunityMum’s been gone almost ten years now, and I still miss her so much.  I know I did all I could during her illness but I still feel, with hindsight, that I could’ve done so much more for her; I cannot beat myself up about that.  At the time I was living a double life as mother and carer and I was knocking myself out trying to hold it all together.

I had a long chat with my son last night about a lot of things but I still get the feeling that, although he was listening, he wasn’t really understanding where I was coming from.  And to him I say that I am coming from the same place my Mother did.  With experience of a life which he has yet to live.  Hopefully he’ll make a better job of his than I have of mine…

Trackbacks & Pingbacks
  1. I have lived a blameless Live | A Teacher’s Blog
  2. The Living Eulogy Experiment | contrailsonmyheart
  3. Adam asmaca | pesrevsanatpesrev
  4. The last time I lied | Miss Moiety
  5. Regrets: Repost and Share | J. M. Tompkins
  6. Who Are These People? | Conversations
  7. Regrets, I’ve Had a Few | Geek Ergo Sum
  8. Well you don’t know till you try, right? | thoughtsofrkh
  9. What I was and what I am | Right Down My Alley
  10. Two Wolves | Spirit Lights The Way
  11. Daily Prompt: Regrets, I’ve Had a Few – I miss you FeeFee | littlegirlstory
  12. Daily Prompt: Regrets, I’ve Had a Few | Under the Monkey Tree
  13. Regrets: I’ve had a few – The mistake which changed my life.. | storyofmylife1993
  14. A Train Named “Regret” | The Jittery Goat
  15. Daily Prompt:Regrets,I’ve Had a Few | Motherhood and Beyond
  16. Turning to life or death? Regrets… | alienorajt
  17. Art Institute Woes… | Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’s
  18. A bittersweet thank you – a letter | walkin’ on sunshine
  19. Regrets (Huitain) | Liars, Hypocrites & The Development of Human Emotion
  20. About My Dog | Anchors Aweigh
  21. Daily Prompt: Turning Point | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  22. Daily Prompt: Non, je ne regrette rien … Well, not much, anyhow | SERENDIPITY
  23. Daily Prompt: Regrets, I’ve Had a Few « Mama Bear Musings
  24. Regrets, I’ve had a few: Where Do I Belong? | The Story of a Guy
  25. Regrets? « RPMAS
  26. Regrets, I’ve had Few | Flowers and Breezes
  27. Daily Prompt: Regrets, I’ve Had a Few | On My Front Porch
  28. The Road I Should Have Taken | Creative Mysteries
  29. Reflections [Daily Prompt: Regrets, I’ve Had a Few] | unknowinglee
  30. Ain’t Got No Time for That. | unblockedwriter
  31. Daily Prompt: Regrets, I’ve Had a Few | Kim, Who Lives at Home
  32. Daily Prompt : Regrets ….I’ve had a few | Valley Girl Gone Country
  33. University Knocks | The Magic Black Book
  34. Daily Prompt: Regrets, I’ve had a few | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  35. REGRET OR IS IT CALLED EXPERIENCE | dandelionsinwind
  36. Forehead Slap – Daily Prompt: Regrets, I’ve Had a Few | Reinvention of Mama
  37. Daily Prompt: Regrets? None. | My Atheist Blog
  38. Daily Prompt: Regrets, I’ve Had a Few | LADYBOY PROMPT
  39. Daily Promts: Regrets, I’ve Had a Few | Photos and writings
  40. “Regrets, I’ve Had a Few” | Relax
  41. The Road Less Traveled | Just Visiting This Planet
  42. Crash & Turn | Good2begone
  43. Oh No, She Didn’t! Wow, She Really Didn’t… | Molly Greye
  44. No regrets with love | Life is great
  45. Daily Prompt: Regrets, I’ve Had a Few | ellie azure
  46. I’m not what I was | I Didn’t Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving
  47. Your Regrets Sing I Told You So | Bullets and Hearts
  48. points turning | Her Broken Nibs
  49. Regrets; I have it all the time. | Testimonies of a Liar
  50. Daily Prompt: Regrets, I’ve Had a Few | cinnwriterblog
  51. I Did it My Way | Girlie Groove
  52. Regrets, I’ve Had a Few | The Nameless One
  53. Birthday thoughts
  54. Out of the Comfort Zone | Daily Prompt: Regrets, I’ve Had a Few | Being a Huntress
  55. Daily Prompt: Regrets, I’ve Had a Few « The Blogging Path
  56. El otro camino (Another way) | Neva Samaki
  57. Daily Prompt: Regrets | Winding Road
  58. How I Lost My Virginity | Must Be This Tall To Ride
  59. Daily Prompt: Regrets, I’ve Had a Few | GG’s World
  60. Shoulda, Coulda, Woulda | CurTales
  61. The Shadow of Regret | Wife Lies
  62. Regrets? Yeh, I’ve Had a Few | Cheri Speak
  63. I wish I didn’t, I wish I did. | Nekoruchii: Life of a Commoner
  64. A knapsack full… | notsinglebutnothappy
  65. I Could’ve Been An Astronaut! | The Political and Social Chaos Blog

10 thoughts on “A gross underestimation

  1. Pingback: YOUR KIND OF LOVE ENDED TRUST FOR ME | hastywords

  2. Pingback: No regrets with love | Life is great

  3. Pingback: Do I really need to say it again? | Rob's Surf Report

  4. I can so relate to what you wrote and how you feel. My mother developed early-onset Alzheimer’s when she was the age I am now … mid 50’s. Like you, I was caught up in the business of a career and being a wife. And I lived just too far away to make visits often. My mom died about 12 years ago and I’m constantly thinking how much I’d love her advice now. So many things I wish I could ask her, like; did you have to blanch the green beans before you froze them? (Yes! I called my older sister who remembers that she did.) When you’re a teen and young adult you’re too wrapped up in finding your own way to think too much about your parents, but rest assured, your son is absorbing some of it. Mostly, he’ll remember that you cared, and that’s all that really matters.

    • Thank you for sharing your experience, and for your kind words. I often have days where I have to stop and think, “what would Mum do?” It’s proof that they made such a big impact on our lives.

  5. Pingback: What if I was a regretful guy? | Okay, what if ?

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Regrets, I’ve had a few | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Regrets, I’ve Had a Few | flow of my soul

Leave a Reply

