Believe it or not…

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/23/daily-prompt-fake/

Daily Prompt: Pants on Fire

What was the last lie you told? Why did you tell it?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us FAKE.

downloadfake > adjective not genuine; counterfeit. > noun a person or thing that is not genuine. > verb 1 forge or counterfeit. 2 pretend to feel or suffer from (an emotion or illness).

What is it about Fridays and prompts beginning with F? Well, anyway…

Lying – or to be politically correct – being economical with the truth is something I do on a regular basis.  But it should be stated here and now that the person I continually lie to is myself.  I am always telling myself things will be a certain way when, deep down, I know they can’t possibly be.  I try to discipline myself when I know I am unruly and perhaps, in the eyes of some, out of control.  I am an Aquarian.  I am wild and free-spirited.  I want to conform… oh, another lie.  I don’t!

I try, very hard, not to lie to others though.  I don’t like being lied to and I always try to treat others as I would wish to be treated.  Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t.  Some people are obtuse in every way it’s possible to be, but do I tell them that?  No.  I tell myself that maybe it’s me that’s being unreasonable.  Another lie.  It isn’t!

Celebrities… now they’re fake.  I have no interest in them.  I see their faces on news websites and I wonder what’s so special about them other than the fact that they generally pretend to be someone they’re not, just because they’re in the public eye.  We’re always hearing about how they want a private life… of course they don’t.  They want all the money and fame and adoration that the general public can muster!  Fake smiles, fake tans, fake attitudes.

I, too, can fake what I show to others.  I am only lying to myself.  I am the only person on this planet who must live with me.  So why do I deem it okay to lie to the one person I should be painfully honest with?  Because to be honest with myself, I must be honest with others – and people don’t really, truthfully, like honesty…

Trackbacks & Pingbacks
  1. Icicles on the house | Bright Moments Catcher
  2. Time | Agrifun.com
  3. Getting By: Fake Equilibrium | The Magic Black Book
  4. My “Seasons” Calendar 2013 | Bright Moments Catcher
  5. The Ambiguity Of Fences | Bright Moments Catcher
  6. Peking to Paris 2013. Belgorod, Russia. Sports and racing complex “Virazh” June 19, 2013 | Bright Moments Catcher
  7. Pants on Fire | Lost in Translation
  8. Zenit Camera | Bright Moments Catcher
  9. Raindrops on the windows | Bright Moments Catcher
  10. You’re lying | contrailsonmyheart
  11. Pants on Fire | Geek Ergo Sum
  12. What you know…or you think you do | MC’s Whispers
  13. Daily Prompt: Pants on Fire | Under the Monkey Tree
  14. The Last Lie… | The Rider
  15. Daily Prompt: Pants on Fire | View From The Third eye
  16. Daily Prompt: Fake | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  17. Poseur | Poesy plus Polemics
  18. Daily Prompt: Pants on Fire « Mama Bear Musings
  19. Mikki only plays with humans | We Live In A Flat
  20. My Ex-BF is Getting Married | Daily Prompt: Pants on Fire | Being a Huntress
  21. If you doubt the lies to be true just ask the blind man he saw it too! | jennifermarshcurtis
  22. Daily Prompt: Pants On Fire | Vagabond
  23. The Algebra of Truth | clarior e tenebris
  24. This Girl Is On Fire | Upstairs Productions
  25. The secret to telling porkies is to not reveal the truth. | thoughtsofrkh
  26. Are Them Pants on Fire? | floatingsheep
  27. kevindeisher
  28.   | The Jittery Goat
  29. “Pants on Fire” | Relax
  30. All art is fake | The Ambitious Drifter
  31. Hope* the happy hugger
  32. I Am OK* | Not a Punk Rocker
  33. Liar, Liar, Pants on Fire | mostlytrueramblings
  34. “Well, I must endure the presence of a few caterpillars if I wish to become acquainted with the butterflies.” ― Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, The Little Prince | Unconventional Wisdom From The Rabbit Hole
  35. The Day I Broke the Rules… | Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’s
  36. Daily Prompt: Fake. | 3rdculturechildren
  37. 10 Day Blogger Challenge – Half Way There! | fibijeeves
  38. Daily Prompt: Pants on Fire | Moments Thru Lens
  39. Pants On Fire: Little White Lies | suzie81’s Blog
  40. Ooh look, your nose has grown! | alienorajt
  41. The Big White Lier! | Everyday Adventures
  42. I’m OK | Life is great
  43. Daily Prompt: Pants on Fire | pandora’s island 2
9 thoughts on “Believe it or not…

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Pants on Fire | My Atheist Blog

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Pants on Fire | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: The Aliens Are Landing | Andante Cantabile

  4. Pingback: THE LIES WE TELL OURSELVES | hastywords

  5. Pingback: Do I really have to lie about something? | Rob's Surf Report

  6. Pingback: Living a lie | Natasha's Memory Garden

  7. Pingback: Sharing Is Caring But Being A Copy Cat Is Different | Molly Greye

Leave a Reply

