Best days of our lives?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/category/daily-prompts/

Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits

Another school semester will soon begin. If you’re in school, are you looking forward to starting classes? If you’re out of school, what do you miss about it — or are you glad those days are over?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us LEARNING.

School days are supposed to be the best days of our lives, right?  Not in my case, or that of my son for that matter.  I was bullied because I was the fat kid and I had broken my front teeth falling off my bike during the summer holidays between primary and secondary school.  My dentist refused to do anything with them as they don’t stop growing until you’re 16, apparently.  As a result, I had to go through five years of teenage hell while all the time the teeth were gradually disintegrating.

To say I did not enjoy school, then, is a bit of an understatement.  Just a month after I started secondary school, my father died – aged just 40.  I didn’t know how to cope.  I made jokes about it all the time while, inside, I didn’t seem to feel too much.  He hadn’t been around much when I was growing up.  He worked hard and he played hard too.  For the last seven years of his life, he was having an affair with his secretary.  I hadn’t known until just before he died, when he confessed to me.  I was all of 12 years old and I didn’t fully understand.  It was the only time I ever saw him cry.

Of course, I’m pretty sure that, however hard I tried to not let that affect me, it did.  I struggled with learning and when it got to the crucial years, I ended up choosing subjects that were of interest but that I turned out to have no actual grasp of at all.  The only thing I excelled in was Typewriting and Office Practice.  Back in the days when computers were rare and took up acres of space, I was a whizz kid on a manual typewriter.  I got many qualifications in that subject, with Distinctions too.  I left school with a handful of certificates but no real qualifications in anything else.  I even failed – of all things – English Language.

Since leaving school, I haven’t really missed it one bit.  I don’t even have any real desire to meet up with those so-called “friends” (read: backstabbers and bullies) and so, even though I know there have been reunions over the years, you’ll never find me at one.  I don’t care to waste my life on people who are full of hate and spite.  So at least I learned something!

P1020008

I also have a love of words.  Indeed, my favourite book to read is the English Dictionary.  See that spine and how it’s starting to tear from so much use?  It’s amazing what you can learn from reading that.  In the short time that I home-schooled my son, we used to open the dictionary at a random page, select a word from that page, then learn its meaning and how to put it into a sentence.  It was fun to see how many people we could baffle with that.  And we both have a love of word games!

Hippopotomonstrosesquipedaliophobia – oh the irony!

*just in case you didn’t know, the above very long word simply means “a fear of long words”

Trackbacks & Pingbacks
  1. Belgorod, Russia from the air balloon. June 2013 | Bright Moments Catcher
  2. Raindrops on the grass | Bright Moments Catcher
  3. Every single day | The Magic Black Book
  4. Sunday trip to Hotmyzhsk of Belgorod Region, Russia. October 23, 2011 | Agrifun.com
  5. Rural Russia. Be my guest! | Bright Moments Catcher
  6. Bzebza follows Russian traditions | Bright Moments Catcher
  7. Who is Bzebza? | Bright Moments Catcher
  8. Rural Russia. Time | Bright Moments Catcher
  9. Rural Russia. Posing | Bright Moments Catcher
  10. Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits | Under the Monkey Tree
  11. School again ? | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  12. Fifteen Credits – 10 signs your teacher is not that good | Geek Ergo Sum
  13. Fifteen Credits: How To Know When You’re A Teacher | suzie81’s Blog
  14. Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34
  15. Schooldays | Sue’s Trifles
  16. Spell of the Typical | Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits | likereadingontrains
  17. Who Needs a Classroom to Learn? | The Reluctant Journalist
  18. Is School The Best Time of Your Life? | Eat Read Glam
  19. I wish I’d have known | Butterfly Mind
  20. Yes, I do. But No, I don’t. | thoughtsofrkh
  21. Yes I do, No I don’t | thoughtsofrkh
  22. The Uncle Buck School Of Higher Learning | The Jittery Goat
  23. Junior High [Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits] | unknowinglee
  24. Fifteen Credits : Oh le Joli OS ! | Icezine
  25. Prof | clarior e tenebris
  26. Learning | Hope* the happy hugger
  27. Something to fill in. | ayimas
  28. 147. Finishing School | kevindeisher
  29. Anxious to Advance | AstridOxford
  30. To My Six Year Old Nephew As He Starts First Grade | Mind of a Mouse
  31. Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits | My Atheist Blog
  32. Molly’s Back In School | Molly Greye
  33. Call Me Nerdy (Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits) | Running with Reality
  34. Blue Loft
  35. Learning | Blue Loft
  36. School’s Out Forever… | alienorajt
  37. Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits | The Land Slide Photography
  38. Step-by-stone-step across the stream at Bishan Park | We Live In A Flat
  39. O-H! | Living Because of EDS
  40. Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits or Somewhat Fewer | SERENDIPITY
  41. Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  42. duck family (Learning) | photo potpourri
  43. School VS Work from someone who does both : Fifteen Credits | thanks for letting me autograph your cat
  44. Daily Prompt: 15 Credits and all the buzz of school | Pinay New Yorker
  45. Daily Prompt: Learning | A mom’s blog
  46. I miss dad | Life is great
  47. Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits | Everyday Adventures
  48. Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits | Musing Off the Mat
  49. Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits « Mama Bear Musings
  50. Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits | Memento Mori
  51. everyday haiku: I can’t believe this | FamousFeline
  52. Listen and Learn | Andante Cantabile
  53. Do I miss school? | My everyday mischiefs~
  54. Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits – Here’s To Never Growing Up | LittleMinions
  55. Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits | Ruminations from an Introvert
  56. Daily Prompt; Fifteen Credits | terry1954
  57. The Last 12 Credits | That Socratic Bitch
  58. Daily Post: The Hull-a-hoop Lesson | Slam on the Brakes, Pull Over, Take the Picture
  59. First Day of School | Writing Daily
  60. Friend(zone) Credits | The Nameless One
  61. Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits » My Life, My Way, My Words
  62. School For Me | 1000 Words Daily
  63. To be back on campus | tornin2’s Blog
  64. Daily Prompt- The Life of Learning | readingwithafeather
  65. Rant About Public Education (Ranted By a High School Senior) | The Ergot
  66. Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits | Let There be Peace on Earth
  67. Nerdy Freshman Ready To Start! (Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits) | College Girl Dai
  68. Dear School, I Miss You | Along Life’s Road
  69. Daily Prompt:Fifteen Credits | Danny James
  70. The Awesome Thing My Team Lead Said to Me Before I Quit My Job | Inkbelle
  71. Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits « The Blogging Path
  72. I am too absolutely BUSY for school | LauGraEva
  73. [Daily Prompt] Learning is Difficult | floatingsheep
  74. My top five things about going back to university… | My Top Fives…
  75. “Fifteen Credits” | Relax

5 thoughts on “Best days of our lives?

    • Thank you. My son suffered very badly from bullying all through his school life. It was only last year that we found out he has Dyspraxia, which has led to some issues over the years. He is very happy now, working in his apprenticeship and I am happy that someone decided to give him a chance in life. Thank you for asking 🙂

Leave a Reply

