Procrastination: I think…

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/18/daily-prompt-time/

Daily Prompt: Procrastination

What have you been putting off doing? Why?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us TIME.

procrastinatorProcrastination – what a wonderfully misleading word that is.  Pro is supposed to mean ‘for’ though I’ve no idea what crastination is on its own.  *Quickly references the dictionary just in case there is something*

Okay, there isn’t a standalone word such as crastinate, but I have now learned that “Crapulent” is a word.  The definition being: adjective literary relating to the drinking of alcohol or to drunkenness.  It originates from the Latin word ‘crapulentus’ – from ‘crapula’ meaning ‘drunkenness’ – oh well, it’s all just ‘crap’ if you ask me.

But I digress.  I am feeling a little disjointed myself today and procrastination comes easier than usual.  There are many, many things I procrastinate about.  Today, one of those things was this blog.  I’ve had the window open with the subject staring at me for several hours and hadn’t even been able to get the tags inserted, let alone any content.

The one thing I always, always put off doing is housework.  I hate it with a passion.  I have to force myself to do any of it and, as a consequence, my home definitely looks like a creative person lives in it.  It’s utter chaos in every room.  But it’s my chaos.  And I like it that way.  A tidy desk is the sign of a sick mind, they say.  Well, no chance of anyone thinking I’m sick then!

I’m sure most people don’t really enjoy housework, even if they tell you they do.  It’s a thankless task when there are other people in the house to mess it up as quickly as you’ve tidied it.  You’d have to be some sort of obsessive, compulsive person to enjoy it.  Even when I’m bored – which isn’t often – I can’t resort to the *H* word.  I’ve said it twice in this post already, I can’t possibly force myself to do it again.  It’s a dirty word and if I do utter it, I’ll have to wash my mouth out with chocolate!

Being an Aquarian, a fact I blame almost every quirk about me onto, I do not like routine, or feeling like I absolutely *have* to do something.  I am a free spirit and if I want to do something, I will do it – when I want to.  That doesn’t tend to sit well with others but it’s just the way I am, and always have been.  I’m a dreamer not a doer.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks
  1. Worm into the bedroom mission continues | weliveinaflat
  2. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | thecommonmap
  3. The Man who Always Worried | Godrick Gnomish
  4. Time Keeps On Slipping…Into the Future | Andante Cantabile
  5. Procrastination | Geek Ergo Sum
  6. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34
  7. The Eventual Return of the Masked Procrastinator | Not a Punk Rocker
  8. Underrated | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  9. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | Under the Monkey Tree
  10. thesis? what thesis? | FamousFeline
  11. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | littlegirlstory
  12. The Queen Of Procrastination | suzie81’s Blog
  13. A Daily Prompt Poem: Time « Vicariously Poetic
  14. Daily Prompt: Procrastinate | A mom’s blog
  15. Procrastination | Sue’s Trifles
  16. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | My Atheist Blog
  17. Daily Prompt:Putting off | Motherhood and Beyond
  18. Kick-Ass Cake and Delaying the Novel Moment! | alienorajt
  19. To Gym or Not to Gym | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  20. Putting off Me | My Beautiful Breakdown
  21. Daily Prompt: Procrastination « Mama Bear Musings
  22. Daily Prompt: Procrastination « Mama Bear Musings
  23. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | The Daily Post « The Blogging Path
  24. Procrastination | The Ambitious Drifter
  25. Why do today what can be put off till tomorrow? Maybe, I will write this blog tomorrow! | jennifermarshcurtis
  26. “I’ll Admit It, I Procrastinate” | Creative Mysteries
  27. Assignment | ayimas
  28. Procrastination | Maine Forest Cafe
  29. 142. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | kevindeisher
  30. Preview 8/20/13: Shakespeare, Hip-Hop, & Why Radio Sucks | Crown Town Scribe
  31. How long can I really put something off? | Rob’s Surf Report
  32. Laziness is the answer | amateurxpress
  33. Do It Later | Tony’s Texts
  34. Poetry Contest! | Haiku By Ku
  35. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  36. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | The Daily Post | Emotional Fitness
  37. Daily Prompt: Procrastination SISTA IS DOING IT FOR HERSELF | Phoenix Flights
  38. Red line on my new iMac – procrastination topic | Slow and steady
  39. Procrastination | The Rider
  40. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | Things I have learnt today
  41. Daily Prompt – Procrastination | Kate Murray
  42. Time Pox [Daily Prompt: Procrastination] | unknowinglee
  43. Procasti- Yawn. | Blue Loft
  44. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | Basically Beyond Basic
  45. Pay Me Now or Pay Me Later | No Facilities
  46. I Love Packing, I Hate Unpacking: Procrastination | thanks for letting me autograph your cat
  47. Procrastination | Purple Rosemary
  48. Daily Prompt: Procrastination | Ruminations from an Introvert
  49. A Treatise on Time (Or, Why I am Doing This Instead of All the Other Things I (maybe) Should be Doing) | The Silver Leaf Journal
  50. Kind of Procrastinating | Kind of a Bum
  51. What if I wasn’t so lazy? | Okay, what if ?
  52. Daily Prompt: Procrastination – It is Earlier When You Think | SERENDIPITY
  53. It Can Wait | Upstairs Productions
  54. Daily Post: Procrastination | Valley Girl Gone Country
  55. Procrastination: I think… | Life & Times
  56. Now is the Time……..(daily prompt wp) | Daily Observations

Ouch! I pinged myself… must remember to take that one out next time…

8 thoughts on “Procrastination: I think…

  1. Pingback: The Squawk of Unopened Books | Expressions

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Procrastination | My Atheist Blog

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Procrastination | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Procrastination Time Again… | planningforaccidents

  5. Pingback: Procrastination? I only manage my time in a unique way. | Embroid Yourself

Leave a Reply

