Freaky Friday

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/16/daily-prompt-change/

Daily Prompt: Freaky Friday

You experience your own Freaky Friday, and switch bodies with someone you love/hate. Tell us what happens.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us CHANGE.

If I could change bodies with someone, it would have to be someone who I thought needed a change of outlook or attitude to others.  The only problem here is that I would have to keep my own mind, otherwise it’d be pointless.  I know many people whose attitude towards me needs to change but my only fear with changing bodies but not minds would be that I would have a lot of smoothing out to do once I was back in my own body.  The havoc someone could wreak posing as someone else is an horrendous proposition.

But if I had to change body and mind to that of someone else, it would probably be that of my so-called “boyfriend” (I thoroughly detest that term, since we’re both in our late forties) because I would love to know what makes him tick.  He confuses me with mixed messages, one minute he seems to love me, then he seems to really hate me.  Sometimes he doesn’t speak to me for long periods because he’s angry with me and other times he bothers me way too much.

But, I digress.  If I were to take over his body, I would learn exactly what it meant to be overly critical of everyone around me.  I would learn what it was like to be nice to someone’s face, but nasty about them behind closed doors.  I would also learn what it was like to have lots of money/possessions.  But what would worry me most of all, is that I would learn that I didn’t know how to love someone.  On the plus side, at least I’d be tall!

What he would learn is exactly the opposite.  He would learn what it’s like to be genuine with people and he’d find out what it was like to have to pinch and scrape to put food on the table.  To have to bring up a child alone with all the joys and problems that comes with.  He would learn humility and civility.  And most of all, he would learn just how it feels to be on the receiving end of verbal abuse; to never be able to do or say anything right; to feel downtrodden and heartbroken all at the same time as loving someone with all his heart.

I have no doubt in my mind at all that both of us would feel very uncomfortable but I know in my heart that, if this were possible, he would learn a better way to be and I would learn that being cruel is lonely.

5 thoughts on “Freaky Friday

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Freaky Friday | My Atheist Blog

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Freaky Friday | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Body Swap Beastliness | alienorajt

  4. Pingback: The Airport Delay… | Annie's Blog

  5. Pingback: Mission to Mars, Never to Return, What Would You Miss the Most? | Annie's Blog

Leave a Reply

