Standout

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/15/daily-prompt-standout/

When was the last time you really stood out in a crowd? Are you comfortable in that position, or do you wish you could fade into the woodwork?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us STANDOUT.

I started writing this post several hours ago but I had to walk away to try and wrack my brains on this subject.  Because, to be honest, I’m pretty average in almost every visual way.  I’m also not one for being the centre of attention or causing a scene.

One occasion where I really should have stood out from the crowd (or two occasions actually) was my wedding day.  Even on this day, the first time around, the limelight was stolen by my sister; she decided to announce on that day, at my reception, that she was expecting her first child.  It became clear who the favourite was then.  I managed to be graceful and congratulate her, then wandered off, looking back over my shoulder as the crowd gathered around her for all the details.

I think that was quite a harsh lesson for me, but never one to cause a scene, I just let it go.  It did put a dampener on my day just a bit but I got used to living in her shadow.  Now she doesn’t even speak to me but I suppose that’s life.

Having spent so many years playing second fiddle was probably what made me the way I am, I don’t like to be the centre of attention.  I find it embarrassing to have all eyes or ears on me.  Recently, I had to attend a meeting with my son, for his apprenticeship.  Maybe because I was nervous, or maybe because everyone else seemed a bit aloof, I found myself piping up with comments more than anyone else.  It was an attempt to show an understanding of what was going on, with a little bit of nervous humour.  Nothing off the wall or inappropriate, but I still felt uncomfortable being the only one there to have any input.

If I ever found myself at a party or social function, you can bet your boots that I’ll be the one in the kitchen handing out the food and drinks!

5 thoughts on “Standout

  1. Pingback: It’s not as it appears… | New Visions

  2. Pingback: Stand up, Stand down! Wow! Do I want to blend in!?!?! | jennifermarshcurtis

  3. Pingback: Standout: Egyptian Cat | Khana's Web

  4. Pingback: WORST KIND OF HUNGER | hastywords

  5. Pingback: Nude Modelling: Stand Out! | alienorajt

Leave a Reply

