Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror, On The Wall

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/14/daily-prompt-reflections/

Think of your blog as a mirror: what does it reveal? Consider your blog name, theme choice, design, bio, posts… what does every element tell you about yourself?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us REFLECTIONS.

I have three blogs, all for different purposes.

292903_362138763865611_835669816_nMy main blog, Stargazer’s Haven, has been going a long time.  Stargazer was a name I chose about 13 years ago as an e-mail address and I just liked the sound of the word.  It’s also very poignant because, when my beloved Mum died in 2004, her coffin was covered with Stargazer Lilies.  On top of that, I am a dreamer, I love the night sky and I do read my horoscopes regularly from several sources.

The theme tends to vary, depending on how quickly I get bored with the layout, colours, etc.  I used to post quite a lot, nothing fancy, just everyday rambling about my life and the things that happened to me.  It’s still the same content but my life can be quite depressing so I write a little less, just in case I do have an audience and I’m boring the pants off them with my whining! 

In truth, that blog is really my personal diary and I’m not at all bothered if no-one comments on it.  It’s there for me to look back on, see how the years have changed – or not.

My second blog, Stitch Myself Happy, is mainly about my hobbies.  I realised that, as a stitcher, I wanted to share photos of what projects I was working on and finishing.  But I started to notice that those bits of information were getting lost amongst all the other crap that masqueraded as my personal life.  Hence, I set up a separate blog for the craft stuff I do.

Finding a suitable theme for that one wasn’t easy.  I’m a little bit technologically challenged and wasn’t sure how to go about changing things to suit my needs.  I get terrible brain-fog sometimes and just can’t see where to do what.  So I just don’t!

I meant to post regularly to that blog but, as it turns out, I don’t stitch or craft anywhere near as much as I should.  Posts are irregular, sketchy, some just downright pointless and others crammed with too much.  I need to put some work in with that one, both on content and actual crafting.

And then there’s this one.  Life & Times.  Newest of the lot, only started up a few days ago.  I have already changed the theme, since the previous one had a static sidebar and I couldn’t, for the life of me, work out how to make it move – if, indeed, it was at all possible anyway.  I liked the colours and the layout but it’s not much use having stuff in the sidebar if you never get to see it.  This theme is a similar colour scheme and the sidebar moves with the page – yay, go me, I found one that does what I want!

I stumbled upon the Daily Post through general nosiness and thought it would be good to do this on my main blog when life got too miserable to post about.  But then I decided that it wasn’t fair to inflict my misery on potential site visitors in between posts such as these.  So that makes my current three blogs.

What they tell me about myself is that I need to have change, constant stimulation and a place to separate all parts of my life, depending on which part of me I want to show to the world at any particular given time.  I am an Aquarian – humanitarian, eccentric, a little bit wild sometimes; I find it hard to settle down into any kind of routine and certainly don’t like being tied to anything that doesn’t make me feel good about myself.  My self-esteem is about as low as it can be at the moment and I’m looking for ways to haul myself back up to where I used to be.  My blogs detail that fight and what I love about this one is that I can write an opinion on a specific subject and know that, by reading lots of other posts on the same subject, I am not alone in my quirky way of thinking.

734988_635814719778139_117257311_n

What all of my blogs don’t tell you, is that I’m a sucker for quotes and beautiful pictures Smile

11 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror, On The Wall

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror, On the Wall | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  2. Pingback: Reflections | Andante Cantabile

  3. Pingback: How do we see ourselves? | New Visions

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror, On the Wall | The Story of a Guy

  5. Pingback: Reflections… | The Rider

  6. Pingback: My top five things my blog can tell you about me… | My Top Fives...

  7. Thanks from a sister Aquarian for this: “I am an Aquarian – humanitarian, eccentric, a little bit wild sometimes; I find it hard to settle down into any kind of routine and certainly don’t like being tied to anything that doesn’t make me feel good about myself.” Spot on!!! Your blogs make you feel good about yourself – and if I were to respond to this post, I’d borrow your words as an excellent summary. And congratulations on the theme – it’s simple and clean. Easy to read. Well done!!!

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mirror Mirror on the wall, does my blog tell it all? | jennifermarshcurtis

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror, On the Wall | My Atheist Blog

  10. Pingback: Multiple personality disorder…or multiple order personality? | Embroid Yourself

Leave a Reply

