Cause and Effect

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/03/daily-prompt-help/

Daily Prompt: Blogger With a Cause

If your day to day responsibilities were taken care of and you could throw yourself completely behind a cause, what would it be?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us HELP.

help

I know this may sound totally selfish, and it probably is, but the one cause I would support right now, over and above anything else, is my own.  Life is such a mess at the moment and I could really use a lot of help sorting it out.

But if it had to be an outside cause then it would have to be something to do with cats.  I love cats.  I’ve had cats almost my whole life apart from the first few years and the last four.  And I miss them.  I miss being able to come home to a friendly, furry face full of unconditional love (ok, my son is sometimes the stand-in here!)  I miss the genuineness of cats.  If they don’t like you, they’ll let you know in no uncertain terms.  And if they do like you, well, you’ll know that too.

I hate reading news stories of cruelty to animals – any animals, not just cats.  Dogs are fiercely loyal creatures (like me) who get kicked down and abused (like me) but they still find it in their hearts to love the person who treats them so badly (yep, you guessed it…)

Humans can be so loving and caring, yet they can also be the cruellest creatures on the planet.  To each other, to animals.  Any person who can be cruel to a dumb animal – and I use the word dumb only in so much as they can’t speak our language, not that they’re stupid – would be cruel to anything or anyone.  So perhaps my cause should be teaching human kindness to humans because they seem to have, largely, forgotten that being kind to others is being kind to themselves too.

But maybe that’s a lost cause…

Trackbacks & Pingbacks
  1. My cause | Renato Vasconcellos David
  2. Goodbye August, Hello September | Ramisa the Authoress
  3. Daily Prompt: Blogger With a Cause | My Amphitheater
  4. My.Vivid.Visions | Daily Prompt: Blogger With a Cause – Visit to an Old Age Home with Orphanage Kids on Friendship Day
  5. Enough is Enough | The Dirty Word
  6. Daily Prompt ~ Help! | Misifusa’s Blog
  7. Many a Possibility | Daily Prompt: Blogger With a Cause | likereadingontrains
  8. Daily Prompt: Blogger With a Cause | Under the Monkey Tree
  9. Unconventional School | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  10. Blogger with a Cause | Icezine
  11. We are all in this together: Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  12. What About The Children? | Prayers and Promises
  13. Blogger With a Cause | Geek Ergo Sum
  14. Bridge (help) | photo potpourri
  15. Helping Kids Be Kids [Daily Prompt: Blogger With a Cause] | unknowinglee
  16. How To Solve Poverty (Monorhyme Sonnet) | Liars, Hypocrites & The Development of Human Emotion
  17. A cause? How about education? « RPMAS
  18. daily prompt – lend a hand | pork juice & paper towels
  19. “Helping Even One Child” | Spirit Lights The Way
  20. Daily Prompt: Blogger With a Cause. Not. | SERENDIPITY
  21. No Man’s Silver Or Gold (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  22. Daily Prompt: Help | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  23. School Board | Conversations
  24. The Business of Helping Others | Molly Greye
  25. Daily Prompt: Causes – Fire/EMS | Jottings and Writings
  26. Play my arm like a violin | The Magic Black Book
  27. Daily Prompt: Blogger With a Cause – SPREAD THE LOVE | littlegirlstory
  28. Reading for a cause | A mom’s blog

13 thoughts on “Cause and Effect

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Blogger With a Cause | My Atheist Blog

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Blogger With a Cause | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Animal abuse is horrific.

    I think it’s fair to say that that one can judge a society by the way they treat animals generally, whether it be companion animals or animals for the agriculture/farming industry. it really says alot in an “overview” way – perhaps not a fair generalization, but often it is the way it is. Thankfully individuals and organizations can make positive differences.

  4. Pingback: Reading for a cause | A mom's blog

  5. Pingback: Effects of a Cause | The Silver Leaf Journal

  6. Pingback: Be + Cause = Because You Can | Cheri Speak

  7. Pingback: Do I really have a cause? | Rob's Surf Report

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Blogger With a Cause | Joe's Musings

  9. Pingback: Just because… | Natasha's Memory Garden

Leave a comment